WHO RECEIVES THE INVOICE?

30 Mar

I work in numerous courts and each with a layer of bureaucracy. Upon entrance I meet the deputies who check for contraband, the bailiff who verifies my presence, and defense attorneys to whom I explain an interpreter’s role. The next person is the judge. But, who pays me for parking, mileage and interpreting services? Years ago a colleague gave this simple advice: call and find out who is in charge of paying invoices. This may sound foolish, but even after fifteen years in the field, I had to verify which person would actually receive my invoice today. No need to have my income lost in the shuffle.

This is not a criticism of the legal field, yet an economic reality for the self-employed interpreter. Know that I receive timely payment when I keep track of who receives the invoices.

Leave a Reply

