HOW CAN I BEGIN THE CERTIFICATION PROCESS?

23 Jul

CALLS DO COME
Call me crazy, but certification opens up doors to more gigs. Just this week an agency found me on the ATA site and wondered if I would trek out-of-state for an assignment. Sure.

CERTIFICATION OR NO?
With that thought I’d like to know what you think about certification. Is it worth the time and effort? Does the piece of paper translate into more cash in your bank account? The certificate caused my self-esteem to rise a tad or two. Then slowly my rate rose. Here are two options for us translators and interpreters to explore.

TRANSLATORS, SHARPEN YOUR PENCILS
The American Translators Association practice test is available for ATA members. Certification proves you meet the standards of the translation profession. One might say it’s a calling card. You choose two documents of three 225 words or so in length. I would spend the money on the practice test and act as if I were sitting for the exam. Why not prepare for the real thing? Click on the link below for more information.

MEDICAL INTERPRETERS, START YOUR ENGINES
The Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters also offers a practice examination http://www.healthcareinerpretercertification.org. I would have taken this before sitting for the exam last year. My computer phobia reared its ugly head and added to the test stress. I also ran into computer glitches the first time. Here’s a chance to receive feedback to identify areas for improvement and see correct. You can purchase the practice test through the link below. You don’t have to take the practice examination before the actual exam.

Good luck to you.
http://www.vantageonlinestore.com/product.php?productid=16442&cat=250&page=1.

http://www.atanet.org/certification/aboutexams_overview.php

Leave a Reply

