TRULY IN THE MIDDLE

11 Sep

IN BETWEEN

I try my  best to adhere to a code of ethics. It was a challenge initially to leave Spanish speaker alone. Invariably  questions arise after meeting with a defense lawyer or judge. My job is to politely excuse myself and leave until a third-party is present.

A REMINDER

Just today a defense attorney reminded me that I could hang out until the defendant would appear to plead before the judge. I lingered a brief moment in the hallway between where the defendant waited and the court room. Then, a smile appeared. In the middle once again.

How do you manage to maintain the appearance of impartiality and neutrality? I would like to hear from you.

National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators Code of Ethics and Professional Responsibilities. Canon 2 Impartiality and Conflicts of Interest. Court interpreters and translators are to remain impartial  and neutral in proceedings where they serve, and must maintain the appearance of impartiality and neutrality, avoiding unnecessary  contact with the parties. Court interpreters and translators shall abstain from comment on matters in which they serve.  Any real or potential contact of interest shall be immediately disclosed to the Court and all parties as soon as the interpreter or translator becomes aware of such conflict of interest. http://www.najit.org

code of ethics impartial conflict of interest appearance Court translator

2 Responses to “TRULY IN THE MIDDLE”

  1. Holly N April 22, 2014 at 12:23 am #

    I bring something to read to avoid conversation.

  2. notaohio April 22, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    Holly, so do I. The iPad helps or I review notes from other sessions and research terms.

Leave a Reply

