CONTEXT, CONTEXT, CONTEXT

13 Mar

Ipad

I-PAD, DON’T FAIL ME NOW

Recently my colleague Natasha Curtis hired me to work on the Spanish Team at Akron Children’s Hospital. During yesterday’s one-month well baby visit a concerned mother asked about tests performed on her newborn. She explained how the nurse pricked her little one’s heel and drew blood right after she was born. “No sé cómo se dice en este país sino en México es prueba de tamiz.” I froze. What in heaven’s name is a “prueba de tamiz”? Instead of focusing on the context, I drilled in on the word, grabbed Miss I-Pad and searched Pwww.proz com, and an online dictionary. Tamiz is a sieve. Sieve test in the birthing suite? Luckily after interpreting what mother said Lady Pediatrician assured mother all tests for baby Angelina turned out normal. I felt foolish for not knowing the exact word.

THANKS, LIZ

After the appointment I sent a text to my fellow interpreter. Liz informed me that “newborn screening” works where all babies go through tests at birth to screen for thyroid, developmental or genetic problems. She uses “prueba de detección” which makes sense as the doctor needs to detect if something is wrong. In my quest to seamlessly interpret the proper word, I erred by not thinking the word through. A sieve filters so wouldn’t a “prueba de tamiz” serve the same purpose? Ever the perfectionist (I don’t suggest this path for anyone) I found the following link from the CDC that confirmed Liz’s suggestion.

http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/pediatricgenetics/newborn_screening.html

Once again this seasoned interpreter learns to just think over the words and focus on the context. I change my egotistical thinking that “Oh, I know all the words” to “OK, what does what Mrs. Suarez said mean?”

Leave a Reply

