THOSE PESKY IDIOMS

21 Aug

WHO’S PULLING WHO?

The other day in juvenile court I stumbled into a hornet’s nest. Emotions simmered between a determined grandmother, defense lawyer and an absent family member in a custody battle. One party filed an injunction/interdicto to halt the proceedings. The aforementioned said mi hermano me dijo que sacaba las garras. What? At first I misunderstood and heard sacando la cara and wondered who is taking whose face off  whom and why? Luckily a fellow interpreter there clarified with sacando las garras. OK, I almost understand but what  does pulling the claws out have to do with one’s behavior?

ASK THE NATIVE SPEAKER

When I asked abuela what the term meant, she referred to a person who attends church but turns into a wolf once outside the holy walls. Aha! She is two-faced. Later research  suggested “reveal your true intention” and “show what you’re made of.” Perhaps “my brother told me that I was showing my true colors” rang closer to the intent. 

SHARE YOUR THOUGHTS

Luckily “sacando las garras” did not come up later. I want to know how you  interpret such a colorful string because she will surface again. Thanks for the help.

One Response to “THOSE PESKY IDIOMS”

  1. Grace August 21, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

    “MI HERMANO ME DIJO QUE SACABA LAS GARRAS”
    My brother told me he will fight with whatever he can, he is ready for a fight, no more nice nice – I am ready …
    “Show true colors” ” mostro como es realmente” ” falso”
    Of course the above statements are mine only, my rendition, if you will.
    Gosh … I love these

Leave a Reply

